This organisation was formed in Melbourne in May 1939 by the Australian Aborigines’ League and several left-wing groups in order to lend support to walk-off from Cumeroogunga and organise protest about the conditions the people endured there.

George Patten was chosen as its organiser, Margaret Tucker and Bill Onus became the League’s representatives on it, and a committed socialist and the general secretary of the Australian Railways Union, J. F. Chapple, became its secretary.